The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

About to dip my toe into Leica M system...guidance needed!

jubbaa

Hi all,

My first post here after visiting quite a bit during my research , I have found it a wealth of knowledge and am looking forward to participating more going forward.

I am new to Leica having been origionally inspired by Steve Huff’s website and I might need some hand holding here.

After much deliberation and research I have decided I want an M9 and a couple of lenses.

My background has been a much loved GF1 which I sold to get a Fuji x100. I find I love my cameras to be more manual and if I am honest more retro looking ( shallow - I know )

I am a hobby photographer with interest in family and friend shots, travel photography and documenting the new exotic city I find myself living in at the moment ( Shanghai ). For the most part I will probably share my images online with the family and friends and an occasional print for my walls at home. I am looking for that leica ‘look’ in my pictures, prefer colour photography , shoot occasionally indoors and love shollow depth of field . Given this background I am pretty sure I want a 35mm summicron asph , and a 50 mm summilux asph.

However I am wondering if the members think I am ‘buying too much’ and will be better off going for the cheaper pre asph models given the medium I will be using to view the pics. I am not a pixel peeper or interested in charts but it is important that the end result has that beautiful leica look. Will my untrained eye notice the difference between asph and pre asph??