The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Leica Q: First impressions.

Adam L

I'm torn. My Sony RX1 is getting beat up and I'm considering an upgrade. For those that have used both, is this a material increase in quality (both image and shooting) or minor, or just different? The things that I like most about the Sony is the dynamic range, silent shutter, & low light capabilities. I'm at best an enthusiast but I try hard to pay attention to good technique when time permits. I miss not having an EVF/OVF but that alone is not worth $4K. I've been using a fixed lens for the last 4-5 years and sometimes wish I had more reach. Going full mirrorless to the Sony is a huge investment and one that I must resist.

biglouis

I decided I really had to go and hold a Leica Q and play with it before joining the long waiting list I have been quoted by several UK suppliers.

I am really glad I did.

I know this will be a dissenting view but I was not impressed. Firstly, the viewfinder may be high resolution but there was something about it which just did not fit right with me. I am a great supporter of EVFs believing that analogue finders are dead. I've used one since I got my GF-1 about 5 years ago, then with a GH-2, RX1 and now A7/S/Rs. Is the actual physical size of the viewfinder itself smaller than, say, a A7 even if it is higher resolution? Something just did not feel right about it to me.