The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Buying a demo M8 from an authorized dealer

xmarcelo

I am new to the world of Lecia, having purchased a new D-Lux4 a few weeks ago and must say that I am just so delighted with this little camera. I am also new to this forum and have appreciated reading the various discussions, recommendations and opinions. Reading Steve Huff's reviews has been so helpful as well. His enthusiasm along with the rest of the members is contagious. So I intend to buy an M8, preferably a pre-owned one or demo. So I have a few questions that I hope some of you my opine on.

Other than the serial number and number of actuations, are there any other questions anyone might recommend I ask an authorized dealer (or a private seller for that matter) about an M8 that is either a demo or just pre-owned? If the dealer just got the camera back from Leica, and represents that it has been checked out, is there a question or questions that you would ask about what Leica did with the camera? If the seller represents that the camera comes with a 1 year warranty, are there questions to ask about the warranty?

Any insight and direction would be appreciated.

J

jeff stevens

I just got one from an authorized dealer. There are a couple things. First the file numbers are reset when you do a firmware update. The only way to truly see how many shot have been taken is to look at the Hex Code in the metadata and convert it to a decimal number. I found the info to do that on the Leica User Forum.

As for serial number, there is some discrepancy about relating s/n to age or date of manufacture. I don't know for sure.