The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Leica S2 23 thousand for the body only

etrigan63

Unless the output of this system is an order of magnitude better than anything already out there, I don't see this making any inroads in the MFDB market. I was recently quoted $19K for a complete starter Phase One P40+ system and that included the lens.

Scargos2

If I were a pro the price is good, it is a DSLR body. Not the big box like Phase one and the others. Hand holding would be soo easy compared to the other brands. I predict the S2 will be a big hit at any price

dseelig

If you were a pro. I am a pro and not many pros can afford a system this expensive. I would guess less then 3 percent can afford to dream about it. Maybe if we get a few thousand 30 dollar Time covers see Sunset bar thread.

Paratom

If I were a pro the price is good, it is a DSLR body. Not the big box like Phase one and the others. Hand holding would be soo easy compared to the other brands. I predict the S2 will be a big hit at any price
handholding is no problem with the other MF bodies
23k is too much IMO and is not what they promissed (a competitive prise)

etrigan63

I've hand-held MF systems from Phamiya and Hasselblad and they are much better balanced than my D700 especially with long lenses attached.

doug

I've hand-held MF systems from Phamiya and Hasselblad and they are much better balanced than my D700 especially with long lenses attached.
Does this say something good about the Phamiya and Hasselblad systems or something else about the D700? I know I wasn't happy with the balance of some of the longer Nikon lenses.

Chris C