The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Beginner - Equipment for product photography suggestions

MRfanny

Hi

I am a designer that has just been asked by a client to start doing small to medium sized product photography for them...ie downlights and powersupplies. They are more than happy to pay for the equipment to get things going with the intention that I can keep it after I work off the hrs for it which I don't mind doing.

They are after a more artistic take on their products with lighting so I think that can allow me to get some equipment that I can use to start practicing fashion editorals which is my main interest.

Was wondering if someone can give me some recomendations for lighting setup, light modifiers, light stands, tent (if needed) for this application. My current equipment list is;

Panasonic Lumix GH2
1xOlympus FL50-R flash
Flash modifer kit (softbox, snoot, honeycomb, dish, etc..)
1xComer 1800 LED Portable Hot shoe light
1xStand + 40" White umbrella
Cactus V5 remote triggers

What I think i need to buy:
1x boom light stand thingy
another light stand, maybe two
some lights for the light stand
a light tent
some light modifiers?
a dedicated table

What I would like to have reason to buy =):
a boom light stand with maybe a dish
another flash
another stand and umbrella or soft box
a backdrop kit

I don't want to get too much if its not essential so I can work it off quicker but I'd like to get the most out of the offer. Thanks in adavance

Cheers.

kit laughlin

Subscriber Member
And what lenses do you have for the GH2—for that work, I am sure you will need the 45/2.8, and it's a great lens.

MRfanny