The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Using 2 Nissin i40?

Rawfa

Hi guys,

I'm new to flash photography and I'm just starting to explore it's creative possibilities. I just got 2 Nissin I40 units and I was wondering how to have one flash on camera triggering the other flash (I would like to be able to use it in TTL and manual). Will I need a wireless remote trigger or something?

This was taken from their website http://www.nissindigital.com/i40.html

"Slave Mode
i40 has a wireless remote flash system as a slave unit.

You can enjoy creative flash photography with multiple lightings from the various directions. There are 3 slave modes provided.

Slave Digital (SD): i40 synchronizes to the pre-flash system. The master flash is to be set at TTL mode.
Slave Film (SF): i40 synchronizes to the traditional single flash system. The master flash is to be set at manual mode.
Wireless TTL
i40 synchronizes to the wireless remote flash system. (*3) (*4)"

Last edited:

iiiNelson

I just got an i40 myself. I can try it out today to see which is the correct mode for optical slaving.

Rawfa

The DS option is for digital slave, and there is also an option called RMT (Wireless Remote Mode). I'd like to know if I can use one Nissin I40 as a master and the other one as a slave. I mean, if I adjust the settings on the Nissin I40 that is on my camera, will these changes reflect on the slave I40 unit?

fotografz

Rawfa, there are a number of ways to accomplish what you want to do.