The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Balcar and equivalent power

dseelig

Anyone know how powerful the 1600 watt heads on the balcar concept p4 compares to elinchrom or profoto. I am very used to the 1600 watt heads and am thinking of switching sustems. Very curious about elinchrom monolights. David

LJL

David,
First disclaimer....I have no personal experience with the Balcar equipment, but I have been looking into some specs on lots of lighting lately. From what I gather, the Balcar Concept P4 (discontinued) is a 6400ws generator that can handle 4x1600ws heads. It is a 6-7 stop range, I believe, depending on the model.

The Profoto heads (ProHeads and Acute2/D4) are rated as 2500-3000ws heads, I believe. Most folks will not use them above 2400ws, but the ability is there when using a 4800ws pack, for example. Cannot comment as much on the Elinchroms, so somebody else will need to chime in.

On the monolight side of things, Profoto and Elinchrom do not have anything above 1200ws output units, I do not think. So you are immediately giving up 400ws total power with the biggest monolights from the others compared to the Balcar P4. There does not seem to be much published data on recycle times, nor light consistency from flash to flash. That is where Profotos really shine, and Elinchroms also hold their own.