The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Perspective correction in post (yet ANOTHER mf thread)

S

Shelby Lewis

Ok.... hopefully one last thread. Can you tell I'm taking this MF back purchase seriously :D

I've pretty much established that the p30/+ is probably the best back for my professional goals/purposes... but one last question.

Do any of you guys shoot architecture and then correct perspective in post? I'm an architect as well and might, from time to time, do a little bit of architectural work. Mostly for personal stuff. I know the p30 backs are not a good choice for use on a tech camera due to the microlenses. I also, from past experience, know it can be difficult to pre-visualize perspective correction to be done in post.

Still I think in the future that a technical camera with those amazing lenses (unshifted) might offset some sharpness loss due to interpolation... later I'd upgrade to the p40+ or similar to take advantage of the shifts.

Which software have you all found to correct perspective with the least loss of detail due to interpolation? I'm thinking panotools.

Jim roof, in atlanta, does some great architectural work (if not a little "render-ly") and speaking with him he has used 1dsIII's and photoshop to great effect... I'm assuming MF would be even better.

Thanks for the patience with all these inquiries.

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member