The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Question from a may-be MF newbie

GMB

As you can see from the number of posts, I am fairly new on this forum though I have been reading a lot. I am somewhat fascinated by the whole MF stuff -- including the many shots I see on this forum --, but I am not sure it is the right thing for me. So I am asking some advice -- not on specific systems (don't worry, that will come later :D) but on whether to move into MF at all.

I am not a pro. I have a job that pays me well so that I can indulge in a few expensive toys, but it also sucks up an awful lot of my time. And since I have a family and a few other interests in life, I do not have that much time to devote to photography. I shoot mostly landscape, travel, family portraits, and a bit of street. Currently, I use an M8 and an M8.2 (and I am waiting for the M9).

I am turning 50 next year and I think a MF system (perhaps even with as many MP as my next birthday :D) would make a nice present. But I have a few concerns whether that would really be a good decision. I just don't want to be disappointment having spent tons of money and than not getting what I want or, to be precise, to not be able to use the system to its full potential. My main worries moving into MF are the following:

1. Is it much more difficult to shoot MF? How much more attention to you have to pay when setting up your gear, as compared to, say, a M8 or a good DSLR? I know that in order to get the best out of it, it means using tripods almost all of the time. What other things does one have to pay attention to.