The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Price/Qality point for MF film to digital

M

martin

I’m an amateur mainly interested in nature scenes including close up, textures and contre-jour. I’ve had several MF systems over 12 yrs, but Zeiss lenses seem to keep pulling me back, these days with a 503cw and Contax 645 on a big heavy tripod. I’ve never printed much, mostly admiring my transparencies through a 5.5x loupe. I now have a few images that would look ok on a wall, and would someday like to sell my best as high quality 24x24” prints.
I’m trying to decide at what point, price-wise and pixel-wise, a digiback is a worthwhile move forward in image quality from 6x6/6x4.5 velvia/provia/e100vs. But first, which system to keep? The C645 plus 40mm if cfe, 120 apo makro, 250sa cf with adaptor is adequate and seems ideal, mostly because of the 120, as in my experience it’s just plain remarkable, with clearly superior realism over the 100 and 120 cfi. 1:1 macro on the twist, adjustable diopter and focus confirmation favour the Contax, though the 503’s wlf has greater enlargement. The 503 option would include the 40 and 250, naturally, as well as the 100 and 120. There’s lots of pros and cons to both, and certainly to me the choice is not easy.

Is the Kodak DCS Proback 645C a good start to equal or exceed a good imacon/drum scan?
Better to wait a couple more years until 22+mp backs are more affordable? The Kodak was around US12kilodollars new, now 1.5-2.5kilodollars.
I’m still quite unfamiliar with digital photography, so what sort of hard-firm-software would be needed?