The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

70HR

thomas

Got my Apo Sironar Digital 70/5.6 (aka Digaron-W 70) for a week now.
It is mounted in a T/S lens panel (Cambo).

My first thought was… big and heavy.
Then again… who cares :)

I am still learning the lens… so my conclusions so far and my short report are most likely not final.

I've ordered the lens with the focus indication slightly rotated towards the T/S indication.
First, I often shoot from relatively high levels so I am glad that I don't have to look over the camera… with the rotated focus indication I rather look from the side.
Too, the tilt knob would make looking at the focus indication even more difficult… unless you'd look at the focus indication straight from above.
So… it helps!

f5.6: center incredibly sharp; edges already really good (on my P45)… I'd consider f5.6 totally usable (without movements)
f8: best aperture (without movements)
f11: slighty diffraction limited (still excellent) - probably best aperture for large movements
f16: clearly diffraction limited. However with large movements at the edges literally the same as f11… maybe even better.
I use f16 from time to time for large movements with my Digitar 47XL as the image is more homogenous… the correction of sharpness falloff looks more even with f16 as the center of the image is not so brutally sharp (in relation to the edges). With the 70mm I have to see…
Too, if you need f16 for DOF… there's no reason to fiddle around with focus stacking or so… I am finding f16 still totally usable.