The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Help, I'm thinking of going with Sinar Hy6, 54 LV

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Now I should point out that the Sinar is a complex machine too so you really have to RTFM because it baffled all of us on site. To me this is a engineer's dream camera and it is gorgeous but the last time I looked i was a photographer not a engineer. Let's keep things in perspective. I was handed 3 Phase backs and was running in 1 minute not to say anything here but sometimes simplicity rules the roost. This depends on what you want and how you like certain things to function and where they are placed. This is all personal choice here and no system is the best for everyone. The Sinar is on top of the food chain in price when you start adding the system together that does not always translate into the best working machine. I find the system as a system clunky to some degree and needs some refinement in software and this 3rd party software. I don't know the whole system in's and out's but from my seat there was a little head scratching going on. i do think even though Thierry jumped in and others from Sinar they need to look at there US operation closely because no one from Florida showed up to help if you know my meaning. Luckily it was not me i would have thrown it under a bus at the time. The question is do you have time to lose images and get frustrated. i don't want to sweep this under the carpet but i do want everyone to be aware also. Does no one any good saying all is fine when the guy struggled his ass off on my workshop that he paid a lot of money to be there also. I was there folk