The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Some S2 Images

KeithL

Guy asked to see some of my S2 images. Please be aware that I am still learning the camera so not all are technically correct. All are processed in Lightroom 3.2

Enjoy and critique please

Woody Spedden

Whoops.........The Church Rock black and white is actually from the D3X with a 100mm Zeiss lens
Making judgements on JPEG images at this size is almost impossible.

Having said that, the skin in the BMX shot, tones and modelling, looks as though it’s airbrushed. If this is straight out of camera I'd be worried.

Woody, what I will say is that I preferred the tonal qualities of your version of Church Rock (D3X?) to Guy's. FWIW, I found Guy's version too contrasty making the highlights look like snow. There again, judgement is again based on web sized JPEGs and therefore fairly meaningless. In fairness, perhaps we shouldn't do it?

Geoff

FWIW, handled one of these cameras in NYC a couple of months ago, and sure glad I wasn't shopping. Nice form factor - nothing I would have been interested in, except once holding it, it was pretty lovely.

woodyspedden

Making judgements on JPEG images at this size is almost impossible.

Having said that, the skin in the BMX shot, tones and modelling, looks as though it’s airbrushed. If this is straight out of camera I'd be worried.