The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Mamiya Lenses - quick rundown?

I recently picked up a Mamiya ZD outfit, and will be buying another digital back soon. Most likely a Phase product, but I am also looking at Leaf. I need to buy some lenses, and I am primarily a landscape and wildlife photographer. Some of the places that I photograph are not particularly kind to photographic equipment, such as the desert landscapes of Namibia.

I have looked all over for review of Mamiya lenses, and there really isn't much online. I don't need any of the newer lenses that are coming out, so no need on wasting time and effort in that direction.

Anybody have a quick rundown on some of the lenses? I hate to say it, but I am looking closely at some of the zoom lenses. For landscape purposes, I usually shoot stopped down enough that I don't need fast glass for most situations.

I am thinking:

35mm
55-110mm
105-210mm
300mm

I am trying to keep my kit on the light side, and I love not having to switch lenses in dusty environments.

Another question. Does Mamiya make a recent 2x teleconverter? I keep seeing one on different for sale forums, but I suspect this is for the 'other' Mamiya 645 Pro system. Is there anything available that I could use with the 300mm f/4.5?

So many questions.....

Andy

schweikert

Andy,