The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Capture One Questions

Dale Allyn

I'm new to Capture One (I don't own it) and wonder if I can get by with C-1 v4.1 instead of springing for C-1 Pro for a while? As I understand it, C-1 Pro has not yet been released in v. 4 anyway, but I believe this to be coming soon.

I'm new to MFDB and will be processing P25+ files, but since I'm very comfortable working in the CS3 environment, I would expect that after RAW conversion I'll do most of the post in PS CS3. Of course I can use ACR for the conversions, but from what I've seen and read the results will be better with Capture One for this back.

1. For low-volume work (no events, etc.) will C-1 v. 4.1 been the right place to start (i.e. can I hold off on the Pro version for a while)?

2. How important is the calibration feature found only in the Pro version?

3. Since v. 4.1 is a free upgrade for current LE users, does it not make sense to purchase an LE license for $80 and get the upgrade, rather than buying version 4.1 for $129?

I'd like to avoid the expense of the Pro version of C-1 for a while if possible as I deal with the expense of the back, a couple of lenses and other bells and whistles needed for the ride down the slope. Any input from you C-1 users, especially pertaining to the Phase back, would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Dale

Last edited:

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member