The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

PhotoRescue Saved My MF Butt

David Schneider

I am still learning Phocus and made the mistake of accidentally deleting all the images from studio session of the local high school's girls freshman basketball team, jv team, varsity team and senior headshots for a poster right off the cf card with no back-up. I thought I was just deleting a few test images taken before we got started shooting the session, right before I began to export in Phocus.

I've been using PhotoRescue from www.datarescue.com for probably 10 years, since it first came out. I had no idea if it would recover Hasselblad 3fr files. First time through it looked like it was working just fine, but timed out after I could see it had recovered almost all the images. So ran the software again and came back another 3 hours later (I'm on a slow pc - my assistant/studio manger/retoucher has the better machine) and there were all my images in 3fr format. Sweet. No way I could have gotten everyone back for a re-shoot. Getting the girls in the studio as freshmen, sophs, and juniors is one of my best forms of senior marketing and this could have been a disaster instead of a success.

I'm sure there are other software programs out there that recover MF image files, but so happy PhotoRescue save my MF butt. Save me a number of times with dslr files over the years. It's always the first program that gets installed when I get a new computer.
View attachment 38505

Last edited:

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
I can recommend SanDisk RescuePro Deluxe also. Worth every penny in my experience too. :thumbs: