The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

I Dared To Enter

DaveK

Hello everyone,

I have been lurking on the forum for a while and really enjoy the high quality of inputs and opinions on the various topics discussed.

I am a serious amateur photographer I was a long time Leica M7 user but finally sold it and took the DSLR plunge a few years back ending up with a Nikon D3x and probably to many lenses! I sold the Nikon gear for a M9 with a 24 Lux and 35 Cron hoping to capture the magic that I remember with the M7 and film. I am a big Leica fan and even though my M9 was replaced after two weeks with a fatal shutter fault error I still really enjoyed the system but frankly just could not nail the focus on the RF the way I used to I this was a big disappointment because I enjoy manual focus and had no problem with the Nikon using the Zeiss 21mm and 50mm lenses. Again, my comments are not intended to start a debate on Leica it just does not work for me but it did slow me down and start to think about taking pictures again.

I am very tempted with a MFDB system vs going back to the DSLR my primary interests are Landscape and People and I have a strong interest in black and white. The files from MF seem to have much more detail and impact than 35mm and there lies my question having just sold my Leica gear and having the option to start from scratch "again".