The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Phocus-Photoshop workflow

cbserota

I am new to Phocus--when I export files to either PS or Lightroom fromPhocus, the files have lost the adjustments I made in Phocus. I am using a Hass H4D-60, which neither Lightroom nor PS recognize, so I must convert them to DNG files first. Also, when exported to PS they seem to open in PS Camera Raw first, which seems to defeat the purpose of Phocus as a Raw converter. Any advice would be much appreciated--Thanks--Charley

Jeffg53

Exporting to TIF or PSD wil keep your adjustments. Exporting to DNG loses, at least some of, the Phocus corrections

Dustbak

The current version of Lightroom does not support H4D60 raw files (.3FR) and certainly no tethered raw files (.FFF). Exporting to DNG's is probably the worst way to go. With DNG's you loose most of what Phocus can do with your files (colors & DAC).

The better way to handle is to make adjustments in Phocus and export to 16bit Tiffs. Handle these in PS. You will notice you get much better quality out of your files.

Lightroom is able to handle .3FR files from other Hasselblad backs. I used Lightroom to archive these .3FR files. Some archive .FFF files, I have opted for the .3FR because of this. I hope one of these days Lightroom can handle .FFF files with all adjustments. For the moment I would settle for Lightroom again being able to handle at least the .3FR files of my H4D60.

fotografz

Actually, this has been my only criticism of Phocus and continues to be.