The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

ALPA TC

Don Libby

I've been shooting my landscapes with a Cambo WRS for slightly over 2 years now and while it is hand-hold able I wouldn't recommend it. I'll be trying out the Cambo Compact beginning next week and should be able to report on it Shorty.

I saw the Alpa TC while visiting Ken Doo in Monterey last month and it got be thinking about a slightly smaller (the WRS is already small) and lighter weight camera to pack in and shoot slot canyons and cliff dwellings.

While there isn't much on the web about the Cambo Compact I wouldn't discount it as an alternative.

Don

lance_schad

Workshop Member
Don,
The Cambo Wide Compact is a nice little system. I have a few clients that are using it.

It is a great compliment to existing users of the Cambo RS and DS since it will share the same lens boards. It is also a great value.

The one thing is that the handle is a little bulky and only on the side. So if you have smaller hands (not you) it may be a little cumbersome. It is also bit on the heavy side @ 700gr w/o lens.

I also like that it has hooks on it for a neck-strap and two spirit levels (the little things that sometimes get overlooked).

Looking forward to hearing how you like it.

Lance

etrump

I travel to some extreme places with cambo rs and ziploc bags in tow. I use the rs handheld when I have to and feel it is a comfortable fit for me. (I am adding strap posts to it though. Hanging over the edge of a boat shooting ice flows in Antarctica was a bit disconcerting).