The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Building a System with Movements

jmooney

Hi All,

I'll confess out of the gate I'm a newb to MF digital, I don't own anything at this point but I'd like to move in that direction. I'm a hobbyist at this point with kids, mortgage, yada, yada, etc. so I need to go slowly. I have some thoughts and wanted to to see what more experienced folks have to say and what advice you could offer.

I need a camera with movements because I'd be using this setup for architecture and landscape. I know that points to technical camera, however, they are very expensive from what I've seen so far. Are there any available for around a $1000 price point?

Is it possible to use a digital back with a 6x9 view camera? or is the precision just not there?

For backs at this point my goal is a Phase One P30. These are expensive but not out of reach however, there will likely be a gap between purchasing the back and the camera. My though was if I buy the camera first, and since the back is a Hassy V mount, is it possible to use a tech camera with Hassy film backs? This would at least allow me to use the camera until I can get the digital back.

Are the digital lenses a requirement or will modern coated LF lenses produce good results?

I know this may sound like I want a $250 answer to a $10,000 question, that's not the case. I'm not being naive about this, I'm just being realistic to my situation. I realize that what I'm asking may be the wrong way to go about this, that's what I'd like to find out.