The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Please Help with Purchase of Phase one P30+

rollsman44

I have been shooting for over 30 years but always wanted to buy a MF digital system that was affordable. I saw a Phase One P30+ 645AFD with Phase one 80mm lense. I am not sure if this is the right system for me. I shoot wedddings part time now( semi retired) and can use any help you can give me .
I dont know if I need special software or how the noise is at a higher ISO and idf its wort me selling my Canon 5D and 24-70L 2.8 lense and a Mamiya 55mm
2.8 lense . Not sure of the price yet. It has 6100 captures. Thanks so much
rollsman

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Well couple things you should know the P30+ is a great back and its a great 31mpx sensor with high ISO rated at 1600 and using Capture One is what you would want to use. But its really good at ISO 800 with pretty good noise control after that than it may not be the one to get depending on what you are shooting and if you need high ISO work with it. So you need to be careful how you evaluate what you shoot and what maybe better.

Lets assume that you just want to shoot MF now. If that is the case than there maybe be better options as well. The P40 + for example is good at Full resolution at ISO 800 but it does have sensor plus but only 10 mpx and it is sensor binning which bins the file down to 10 mpx but you get a better effective ISO to 3200. I say 1600 is the limit here as I own this back today myself and use it at ISO 1600 pretty effectively.