The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Ordered a Hy6 and Leaf Aptus II 12 today!

Anders_HK

Anders/Graham,

Do either of you hesitate to use the Hy6 in inclement weather such as dust or harsh environments. I ask only because of the fan located in the DB. Thanks.
Leaf backs are SOLID and DURABLE :thumbs:

The Afi-II 12 is my second Leaf and cost $$ from my personal accounts, and frank very high $$ for me personally. I am a serious amateur and it yields no income.

As an expat my current base is Hong Kong and with travels across South East Asia and to Europe and back, had I had slightest concern I would not have bought another Leaf but I find it the best TOOL for my images. :angel:

Vents for fan is no issue, unless... if you perhaps shoot unprotected in rain or sand storm, which arguably will not yield good images... In my opinion weather sealing is overrated. Taking well care of gear is the key, but to nevertheless use them as TOOLS.

The first travel with my first Leaf (Aptus 65) was to dusty India and I do not hesitate to bring it to the beach (but not into water)! :D.

This subject was discussed on LuLa; ;)

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=54074

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?topic=46491.140

As for the Rollei, I will simply take well care of it and use it same as any other photographic TOOL I used and owned. It will stay fine and mint. The only of my tool taking beating is my tripod... Gitzo/Manfrotto carbons can handle lots of beating...

I simply shoot whenever and wherever I believe I can capture a good image. Landscapes often means on the rough...

Regards
Anders