The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Wanting to go into Digital MF

pophoto

Hi Guys,

Background: I've been a 35mm DSLR for sometime. D700, 5Dmk2, and even the Leica M9.
I know I might not even qualify to ask here, since I'm not a professional Photographer, but I am a digital artist of a different kind, and imagery or the quality of it, especially in photography, I have become somewhat snobbish of it (my own photos) and am fairly demanding of the quality of the images I see. So for whatever the reasons, please entertain me, since photography is a passion of mine. Oh and I enjoy shooting landscape and people.

Premise: I've read in various threads here talk about Dalsa and Kodak sensors, crop and full frame, dynamic range, ALPA tech cams, 645 and hassys and costs even. However, if you are willing to carry a full DLR kit with lenses say a D3 with three lenses, that is a considerable weight already, however once set up you maybe able to shoot fairly quickly.

Now the question, this isn't so much a single question but for someone thinking about going to MF with serious consideration and want to know about the experience: How much of a shock would it be to someone like me changing to to MF and how much would I be slowing down, please explain. Could I be dissappointed in the image quality still?