The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Lost in 'transition'...pixel size & IQ

anGy

Hello everyone,
This is my very first post on this forum.
Just wanna to say hello to all of you guys first.
It has been an helpfull pleasure to read your comments and advices on these posts. Many thanks for that.

I'm an enthusiastic amateur photographer, no pro and am thinking about making the big plunge from DSLR to MFDB since a few weeks. A post like the recent one of Andrews is of a big interest to me. It's a chance some guys are willing to spend so much time sharing their experiences (although I'm sure writing the posts has certainly helped him to structure his own thoughts !).

I've had a quick demo of the phase one P21+ P25+ & P30+ on the new 'phamiya' camera last week. I was impressed on how easy it was to handle this camera, the back settings and so on. A real kid's play. But I also was disappointed about a few things. The autofocus is - by no surprise - very slow. Not to be compared to my Canon. It has had difficulties to work properly on dark lit places inside the showroom (where the canon did find his focus in a micro second). I was hoping the viewfinder to be brighter too (80mm mounted on the camera). I found it no better than my canon (but the 50mm f1,4 was mounted on the canon). The portrait position of the phase one was also less pleasant than the vertical grip of the 1DsmkIII.