The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Tech cam vs ts-e/35mm for architecture

NicholasRab

Hi all,

I current derive a portion of my income from architectural photography. A lot of interiors and exteriors of high end residences, with some commercial spaces (which I am trying to grow). I also shoot landscape/fine art for myself and occasional print sales. Take this to mean I make a good portion (but not most) of my income from AP.

I have been shooting for the last 2 years with the canon 5d2 and a set of ts-e lenses. There is very little I can complain about with this system, but neither am I constantly inspired to be better than the camera is (if that makes any sort of sense?) Previously I shot with a H3D-39 & the 28mm, utilizing PP to handle distortion.

I am considering a move to a tech cam, probably a lower end back, ideally a leaf 33 or p45, maybe a 22. I would probably pick the Cambo WRS as a platform with a couple of lenses. When I look at this switch honestly I know it is just GAS, but hell, life is short and there is nothing wrong with utilizing tools that make you happy. I really enjoy simplicity in my cameras, and the 5d is not that...

What I am wondering is what real world benefits and challenges I may have in such a move. Note that I have shot extensively with a 6x12 film camera so am comfortable with scale focus, external meters, and the like. Speed of operation will probably be fine. The ability to shift and rise at the same time would occasionally come in handy, but not enough to truly make a difference. File size has never been an issue, but it certainly does not hurt to have more.