The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

I need info about Leaf Aptus II 28

Pics2

This is my first post here.
I've been searching about digital MF a lot lately, trying to make up my mind on stepping up to MF. I'm DSLR user (Canon 5D II) doing mostly product studio photography, so I have zero experience with digital backs.
To get to the point,
I decided on Leaf Aptus II 28, since my budget is limited and I want new equipment, not the used one.
I would really like you to help me with any experience from users of this back. What worries me are two things that I read:
- Extensive moire problem and
- Noiseless pictures only at ISO 50, I hoped not to see noise at least at ISO 100.
Any help appreciated, thanks!

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
Moire is much more common on the DM22 than the DM28. What sort of work do you do?

If you shoot fabric catalogs for a lot of your studio product work and tend to shoot at f/8-11 then I might advise something else (e.g. A pre-owned p30+ or a new DM40) but for most shooters I would not would not worry about the moire on a DM28 too much.

The quality of the dm28 at ISO100 is excellent. At 200 and above it depends a lot on your criteria and use; for many/most people iso200 is also quite good. For some iso400 is also ok. Very few would consider iso800 usable.