The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Could somebody slap me silly with back info please

Chris Giles

I'll be brutally honest in that I'm totally confused. I'm new to medium format and am loving using film right now but my goal in going MF was to use it for my portraiture ( www.booheads.co.uk ).

I love the framing of medium format and the Hassy's 6x4.5 is pretty much 8x10 and whilst film is a handy thing to use it isn't as convenient to me as digital.

So I went looking at digital backs and thought I was settled on a Leaf Aptus 22 with it's fat pixels and good skin tones it seemed the thing to buy....

....but can I find any anywhere used? Nope.

So this has led me to look at other options and to question whether or not I'm setting my sights unjustly on pixel size and skin tones and in turn ruling out perfectly good alternative options.

(I'm running a H1 btw).

For example, I can buy an upgraded H2 (to H3D) with a 39mp Hassy back for £4500 with an ISO range of 100-800 and sell my H1. Keeping the Film back I like so much. Ok so it's more but considering what the average 22mp back goes for it's only an additional 1k for 39mp and a body.

I'm also worried about buying a 31mp back with a 1.3X crop which whilst it would save me buying the 100 2.2 lens I've been looking at (I have the 80mm) the sensor isn't a whole lot bigger than the 1Ds3 and I would like to see a jump in IQ.