The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

PC Laptop for MF tethered shooting

Ben Rubinstein

Can you educate me please in the differences between the screens they offer? I'm not really a flat screen guru I'm afraid and would appreciate a primer in how these workstation screens differ, thanks!

T.Karma

I am doing this from memory and I am not an expert on this but here it goes.

DELL and HP will give you an optional IPS screen, which offers better viewing angles than regular screens. They both work with RGB LED technology which means each color channel has its own LED, in contrast to regular white LED backlit panels. This results in a wider color gamut, 100% Adobe RGB, if my memory serves me well.

Ben Rubinstein

Question is if I need that level of accuracy to be honest, I'll be balancing colour from colour charts and I'm shooting documents not skin tones. Stuff like wider gamut isn't actually that important for my uses, especially when on the road where all I want is a screen accurate enough to check what I'm doing on the first frame prior to using it as a template for an entire session. I need a good video card for the programs to use as GPU but super accurate screens, not sure. IPS would be useful though, I have to check if Lenovo offer it. Dell do have good service here, lots of research :D

T.Karma