The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Digital back on 6x7 and 4x5 ?

evgeny

Hi.

1. From my experience a 6x4.5 film scanned with Nikon 9000 is equal a 22 mega pixels back. Is there any reason to use a 22 mega pixels digital back on a Mamia RZ67 IID? Why a digital sensor will outperform a larger 6x7 film?

2. I have a Sinarback 54M with Contax 645 adapter attached to my Contax 645.
How to use a moveable Contax 645 Back (Widepan made in china) attached to Sinar P2 4x5 camera? I'm completely new to moveable backs, are they worth the money? Is this for still life subjects or whatever else?
Should I better buy a 4/16 back, like a Sinarback 54H?

Thank

David Klepacki

1. It depends on the film, scanner. and software Many lower-end scanners do not have accurate focus. Also, any curvature in the film will produce a soft scan. With decent film, the Flextight X5 should outperform a 22MP sensor easily.

2. The 54H 16-shot mode will produce the best file. This is because you are capturing 22MP x 16 = 352 MP worth of actual 16-bit image information, much higher than any scanner. However, some of the movable back mechanisms will allow you to stitch multiple images from a P2, also with good results. In fact, you can even use the 54H 16-shot mode combined with such stitching for incredible resolution, but the file will become so huge that you will most likely be forced into reducing to 8-bit color, or else invest in a more powerful computer.