The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Mamiya ZD body - anybody here using one?

John Black

For those following any of this; these shots were processed with RAW Developer (version 1.8.1). The RAW Developer GUI needs some work and added functions, but the RAW engine itself does very nicely. Click on the images for a larger version. I'm still learning RAW Developer and will write something up in a couple weeks after putting some more images through it.

John Black

Hi Quentin - I'm still wrapping my head around the raw conversion options; SilkyPix is on the "to do" list, but I haven't tried it yet. Thus far, I'd say C1 is best for "Black and Bright" - meaning very contrasty images, dark blacks, bright highlights, not much in the middle. RAW Developer is "Meaty Mid-tones". Its images can be contrasty with an S-curve edit in the curves panel, but the "native" look has lots and lots of mid-tone action. In a way it's like film; if I want Velvia, go with C1. If something more subtle, denser is in order, then RAW Developer. C1's GUI is much sexier. RAW Developer is a deep application with more options. C1 goes quickly, RAW Developer goes slower because you can really finesse the image. I'm not sure if one app is my favorite over the other. They are very different, so I could probably make equally strong arguments for either app - at least for my workflow.

woodyspedden