The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

My Take On 35mm vs MFD (Long!)

torger

I did myself as an amateur get a MF tech cam system because I like the shooting process, and I was slow and fiddly with my 35mm digital anyway. I'm an engineer, I enjoy the gear and I'm not ashamed of that :).

Being out in the nature enjoying both the nature itself and the shooting experience is the most important to me. A good result now and then is still important to me, but I don't need to produce it every day to meet a demand and make a living. I'd like it to stay that way.

I refuse to be a fan boy though and join in on the MF team in the MF-is-better-than-35mm-war. I would not have got into MF if I couldn't buy the digital back second hand. The DBs are just too expensive for what you get, and the business is just too professionally oriented for us amateurs, never liked the dealer-centric way, and that gear seems to be designed to need excellent support rather than just work flawless.

Geoff

Like Torger, also got in through amateur status. Found a demo back for a great price, fit it on the body it was made for, and never looked back. Never had a dealer for support, just factory reps.