The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

My Take On 35mm vs MFD (Long!)

rga

Large Format vs 35mm – History Repeats

I want to be perfectly clear that I am not a professional photographer. Sure I’ve shown in galleries and sold prints, but I don’t do photography for a living. I’ve never taken a photography course, never had any formal photography training and never aspired to be a pro. I just love to take images; landscapes are my passion. Finally, just to set the record completely straight, I am not receiving any compensation from anyone for this essay. I am just writing it for my own pleasure; just like my photography.

Good. That’s out of the way. On to the meat of this essay. Why would anyone in my position (advanced amateur, unpaid landscape photographer) ever continue down the path of medium format back digital photography when there are now almost 40 megapixel, 35mm SLR’s available for 1/10th the price ($3,000 vs $30,000)? My answer is, of course, because a digital SLR doesn’t meet my needs; how I want to do photography and what I want from it when I do it. I’ll try to clarify.