The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Nikon D800E v.s Hasselblad H4D40: the end of medium format superiority?

Im not sure any Nikon owner is saying hey MF we can kick your *** on any given day even on Sunday.
What I'm saying: "how cool that I can now afford a camera that gives decent results, rather than saving up for another half a lifetime for tech camera and a phase back."

That's about it. I studied many comparisons between d800 and phase, especially yours with the 160. I never thought for a minute the Nikon equalled the MF. But if you had told me that picture A was produced by a $3000 camera and asked me to guess the price of the camera that produced picture B, I might have said $6000, taking into account diminishing returns. I would not have guessed $50,000. A lot would have to be different, not the least of which is my financial situation (I'm an artist for god's sake) to bring a technical camera into the realm of possibility.

Meanwhile, the Nikon has tempted me into projects I never anticipated. I'm doing work handheld on the NYC subway ... just spontaneously started happening when I figured out how well the new toy handles low light. I never did this kind of thing when I was lugging bigger formats.

I would still LOVE a tech cam and phase back. But realistically it's not going to happen any time soon, and I have work to do.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Great comment but the best part that caught my eye was you can now do something you have not dreamed about before. That's priceless.

Professional