The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Tech camera, DM22 back, LCC?

Pemihan

I'm seriously contemplating getting a Alpa Max and a Alpa 35/5,6 APO-DIGITAR XL to use with my Mamiya DM22 back (same as Leaf Aptus II 5)

I see that a lot of you folks write "corrected with LCC" or something like that when presenting a picture.
Would anyone care to elaborate on that?

I'm new to MF and have never had a tech camera before....

Thanks
Peter

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
Peter,

You will find that all wide angle tech camera lenses will render a light drop off / colour cast towards the edge of their image circle where the light angle reaching the sensor gets more extreme. This colour cast is removable by shooting a grey lens colour cast (LCC) image using a translucent plate and then using the auto LCC correct filter in Capture One with the LCC image to remove it from your picture.

This is all normal.

Pemihan

Thanks Graham and Stephen...

Is there any way to remove it in Lightroom or Photoshop? I never been able to get into Capture One, I have tried but it just isn't me.

Do you have to shoot a LCC image after every shot or just once per lens?

Thanks
Peter

Pemihan

So I just got my tech kit. Ended up with a Cambo WRS and a 35 XL and 47 XL.
I will use it a lot for stitching and need to get some guidance regarding LCC.

First, do I shoot a LCC at the same aperture and shutterspeed as the actual image?

Second, for stitching I assume I need to do a LCC for every shot?

Thanks
Peter

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor