The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Tech cam - focussing with laser rangefinder?

Don Libby

Using a Leica Distro and setting it to measure from the rear instead of the front I will normally position it as near to the sensor as I can. Haven't had much trouble however then again I'm primarily a landscape photographer. I'll also check focus on my IQ to make certain I'm sharp.

If I'm shooting closer than say 20' (6-meters) I'll cheat and shoot 3- images; 1-at the distance measured, 1-a little more and 1 a little less. This way I have 3-to choose from and either use one or stack 2 or more.

Don

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
From where do you try to measure the distance?
Form the sensor plane or?

Peter
Technically yes; from the sensor plane.

In practice don't worry about it except at distances less than 10 ft. At anything farther than 10ft the difference of a few inches doesn't matter.

markymarkrb

I'm not sure if it really matters but while we are on the subject I'll ask one more question. For the most accurate focus to an object, would you use slant range to the object or horizontal range? Can the Disto5 compute horizontal range from slant range?

Flynnyfalcon

I'm not sure if it really matters but while we are on the subject I'll ask one more question. For the most accurate focus to an object, would you use slant range to the object or horizontal range? Can the Disto5 compute horizontal range from slant range?