The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hasselblad H4D-50 and high iso

Bildifokus

I received my Hasselblad H4D-50 yesterday and now I will start to explore how far I can push this camera. I'm new to medium format so I really don´t know what to expect. I've read a lot and looked at lots of images to try to decide what digital back and maybe most of all, what lenses characteristics I like.

I have been shooting with a Nikon D3x for three years now, and I'm comfortable with how it´s handles. From what I have read about the limitations of medium format vs DSLR there where two that I was concerned about, AF speed and high iso. I do not shoot a lot of high iso, and I seldom go over iso 800 on my Nikon and that is the highest iso on the Hasselblad. First test image on iso 800 was this image of my dog Wilma. And I´m amazed, this I did not expect! The Hasselblad handles high iso a lot better than I expected!

Next issue was the AF. Although I missed focus slightly in this image I most say it focus quickly and very exact. Based on this short experience I feel that focus is more accurate on the Hasselblad when I compare it to my Nikon D3x.

I think this is for me the beginning of a very interesting journey! :)

bahr

I agree, the hassy focus is crazy accurate. Your image demonstrates a great capture at an ISO setting I tend to avoid. Now it seems like a perfectly reasonable setting for the image quality. What lens was this shot with?

Bahr

Jay Emm

Did you use True Focus? (Which I think is amazing voodoo, it's remarkable, I get almost no OOF images when I use this)

Bildifokus