Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like

    Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    Hi there,

    I know that perhaps nobody but Leica has a definitive answer but the new Leica S (sucessor to the S2) sports the same sensor than in the current S2.

    Could the actual S2 be upgraded via FW to incorporate these new ISO steps and improved higher ISO noise ?

    The sensor its the same, Leica just saying that the eletronics changed (not sure what they mean, since the processing cpu is still Maestro and the image capturing sensor is exactly the same)...
    Leica M9 | Leica S2 | www.proenca.eu

  2. #2
    Senior Member RVB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    807
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    I am not certain about this but I recently asked a Leica dealer in Amsterdam the same question and he said no.. the new S sensor is the same but there are other differences in the camera..

    best

    Rob

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    Quote Originally Posted by RVB View Post
    I am not certain about this but I recently asked a Leica dealer in Amsterdam the same question and he said no.. the new S sensor is the same but there are other differences in the camera..

    best

    Rob
    Im fearing that as well, but it doesnt make sense to me.

    Image Sensor, the same. Imaging Chip, the same.

    It should be upgradable via firmware. Eletronics different to acommodate the new LCD, GPS and finer tricks. But the image "production" part is exactlty the same, bar the AF system (which is better). But as far image creation goes, its the same.

    Really hope it would be upgradable, would love cleaner 1000 iso files and having 1600 for emergencies.
    Leica M9 | Leica S2 | www.proenca.eu

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Shashin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Posts
    4,083
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    132

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    If it was so easy to do by firmware, why didn't Leica improve the ISO performance long ago? Actually, I would say that no one has any idea how they have changed the camera--you can't tell by a simple spec sheet.

    I do think they have a real naming problem--why does the S model follow the S2 model? What do they call the next model? SII?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany near FFM
    Posts
    93
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    Same electronic does not automatically mean that a new software will run with the old hardware as like with the new hardware. There are differences in the internal electronic parts as well in RAM size. That alone will confuse the software of the new camera on an old system. And even if they could, they would not do it. Who should buy the new S then if anything is the same like before?
    Last edited by fotom; 8th December 2012 at 11:44.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    860
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    76

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    No, the S2 cannot get the higher ISO performance of the new S. The reason for this is that while both cameras share the same sensor, the new S uses an entirely new sensor board and associated electronics which are responsible for the improved ISO performance.

  7. #7
    Senior Member MaxKißler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    As far as I know, the new S uses the same sensor as the S2 but with a microlens panel that might be resposible for producing a cleaner high iso file. I'm not entirely sure though..

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Island, Hawaii & Utah
    Posts
    125
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    11

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    I believe the sensor in the S2 is a CCD type from the same family of sensors as the 40meg used in the Pentax 645d, so the output will be analog requiring an a/d conversion. The amplification/conversion electronics at that stage are critical, so it is quite likely Leica has implemented significant improvements, as claimed.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    251
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Leica S new ISO range - can the S2 be upgraded via fw?

    ok ok

    thank you all for your detailed answers.

    quite happy with my S2. will envy *a bit* the new S users but S2 is perfect for me.

    top priority is getting a 30mm or a 35mm
    Leica M9 | Leica S2 | www.proenca.eu

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •