The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

African lens help !! Please share your experience :)

proenca

Hi there,

Quick background : I bought a Leica S2 few months back and I'm an amateur.

So its a big toy which I love and had to give away my major Leica M collection, but I wanted to go into the MF game.. and boy, I'm loving it.

I have the "kit" lens, the 70mm.

My wife and I are going to African in a few months, Safari parks et all.

I want to buy one or two lens and here asking for advice ; my family is "planned" to grow in a few months ( well you got the point ) so money for new or used S lens is going to be non existent for quite a while ehehe..

Africa is a big dream and two things come to my mind : wide angles of that Savana and telephoto of Cheetahs and such, to which I do not have a lens.

Option 1 ( which I'm more inclined at the moment )
Buy Leica - Contax oficial adapter - 1500 euros
Buy Contax 35mm lens : 1200 euros
Buy Contax 350mm lens : 3000 euros
downsides : 35mm isnt that really wide
up : less expensive route, can add a couple of other lens ( 120 macro, 80mm f2, 55mm ) down the road

Option 2
Buy Leica - H official adapter - 1250 euros
Buy used 28mm HCD - 2200 euros
pray for used Hasselblad H 300mm at this price point : 3000 euros
downsides : more expensive. other lens down the road will take years
up : H lens are better

Option 3
Buy Leica 24mm or 30mm lens : 5500 euros
down : no tele, no lens for the nearby century :)
up : weather sealed, super wide ( love it ) , superb

Option 4 :
buy Contax adapter, Contax 35mm : 2700 euros