The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

External drives for MBP retina - Options?

GMB

I know there a lot of Mac experts out here and so I hope to get some good advice.

Background

I am not a pro and don't make my living with photography, but I am what you could call a serious hobbyist. My image library is just north of 1 TB. I shoot M9, MM, and S2.

Until last month, I did everything on a Mac Pro (2008) with 4 discs: 1) OS and applications 2) non photo files 3) LR library and catalogue 3) back up of 3). Disks 3) and 4) are 2 TB. I have three external hard drives for back up. Back up done manually by copying files, normally once every couple of month or more often, depending of what I shot and when. All terribly unsophisticated but simple.

In July I got the new 12" MBP retina, fully loaded (i7 processor, 16 GB Ram, 512 GB SSD). Needless to say it beats the s*** out of my desktop and I love it. I would like to use it as my main working mashine. But that means I need to find a solute for external drives.

Criteria for choosing are:

• all photos in one catalog
  • automatic (or simple to do) backup at the end of each session (I could perhaps do without if I can automatically store the photos on a backup drive while uploading
  • simple archive of entire catalog on external drives for storage off site

Of course, I would like to make use of the thunderbolt interface, it that increases speed. Cost is not the main issue, but I don´t want to spend a fortune either.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks