The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

In search of the perfect level

Don Libby

I seen an never ending search of the "perfect level" both on this site and others. I've seen people bemoan the fact that the level attached to their tripod is perfect; likewise the level on their head. This is being posted in "Medium Format Systems..." as this is the place where I see this quest the most. I've kept quiet until now....

As many may know I am primarily a landscape and nature photographer with a limited amount of wildlife thrown in to shake things up. My primary capture method is medium format using a combination of a tech cam as well as a Phase One DF; using a Phase One IQ160 back. I have a sturdy tripod and head which I use to attach my gear to and all told if I count each and every level system I have at least 2 to 3 depending which one I'm using.

I've tried to have my tripod perfectly level. I then attempted (and failed) to have the head perfectly level after leveling the tripod. I then attempted (and failed again) to have my camera body perfectly leveled once I had the tripod and head near level. I spent nearly an hour one time as an experiment seeing if I could ever get the "perfect level". And failed.