The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What digital back for Mamiya RZ IID

cem3387

Hey,

I am a RZ newb, just got my first MF this week.

Gonna get up to speed on MF with 160 Portra.
But I have had a MFDB on my mind all the time.

So a few Qs:

Is there any particular advantages with the Hassy V or Mamiya backs for the RZ? It seams obvious that the Mamiya should be better, but it seams the Hassy backs and adapters are cheaper.

What is the difference between Mamiya and PhaseOne RZ adaptors for MFDB's? If any.

I shoot D3x now I more or less only do portraits. I do not feel I need more than the 24MP that the D3x has so I have been looking in the range of DM22,DM28 and DM33.

Please find some samples of my work.

Daniel

Shashin

First, the RZ is a 6x7camera and MFD sensors are very much smaller. You will need masks for your viewfinder. Going wide on this camera with lenses is going to be tough.

I can recommend the Phase One p25+ back. I use one in the studio for still life and portraits. It is sharp and has great color. 60mm is normal for this back.

Last edited:

cem3387

Shashin, Thanks for your feedback.

I think the widest (non fisheye) is 50mm in the RZ range.
What equivalent would that be on the P25+? About 36mm equivalent the D3x?

Right now I only have the 110 2.8 on the RZ.

What adapter are you using for the P25+?

And yes, I do love the 14-24 2.8 on the D3x!
I suspect I will not replace the D3x with the RZ just complement so I do not know if it's
forte will be wide with the MFDB.

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member