The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Pentax 645D Questions

iiiNelson

I'll share a few thoughts as I bought a pre-owned Pentax 645D about 3 months ago replacing my D800.
I am a hobbyist not a pro, so keep that in mind if you draw any conclusions from my input.

CAMERA: I am happy with Pentax 645D. I find its color output very pleasing. Like yourself, I am a Leica M9 user and I feel the color fidelity is similarly pleasant. Resolution is great but it needs a very sturdy tripod. The results, when used correctly & deliberately are very rewarding (to me).

PENTAX LENSES:
As far as lenses are concerned I purchased the following lenses:

55mm AW: I bought it with the camera, sold it but then re-purchased it. I like it. I think its under-rated.
90mm AW: Excellent performer. Shake reduction is handy. I think its over priced. I found a used one.
25mm AW: I have returned 2 copies, one bought from B&H and another from Japan. One FA the other D FA.
Sharp but shows a LOT of purple fringing and chromatic abberation in strongly backlit subjects.

120mm FA: My copy was nothing special. Had to stop it down considerably. Sold it.
150mm FA: Nice but nothing special. Still have it. Probably will sell it.
300mm FA: My copy was pretty good. I found it difficult to use even on a stable tripod. Sold it.

ZEISS LENSES:
I've converted & used a lot of Leica-R and Zeiss lenses with Nikon D800/D700 and I loved them (and miss them). In that spirit, I decided to explore some alternative lenses for the Pentax 645D. After a lot of reading and research I got these...