The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Perfect tech cam companion ?

fotografz

I'm no engineer but according to my calculations it must be possible but without much room for movements.
Eduardo
http://www.rodenstock-photo.com/mediabase/original/e_Rodenstock_Digital_Lenses_3-26__8236.pdf
Movements wouldn't be the point if used on the A7R in context to carrying something as companion to a Tech camera and big meg DB.

I was thinking you could just use the lenses you are already carrying for the tech camera. Probably a different flange to sensor distance … but then I wondered if tech lenses could just be used on the A7R using a Helical focuser
verson.

Carrying the idea further, I'd love a little bellows unit that took some of these outstanding tech lenses for macro work (39mm Leica thread).

- Marc

fotografz

It's quite interesting to note that the RX-10 is already ~0.8kg and a full A7R rig 1.8kg.
The problem for me is the long end - since a full frame 200mm lens tends to be on the heavy side.
Couldn't you use an A7R set to APSc crop with a M-135mm? That's a pretty small lens and optically excellent. Granted, it's not AF, but in my experience so far, the Sony manual focus aids are really fast especially when used with a lens designed for manual focus, especially Leica M lenses.

Just a thought.

- Marc

Ken_R

Hi !

Sorry if this is slightly OT, but it does fit roughly this forum since it's about a camera to complement my tech cam rig. So here goes.