The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

tech/view cameras advises required!

maki-b

Hello everybody, I am an interiors and architectural photographer and I moved years ago from my beloved MF and 4x5 view camera and film to the digital arena. I am presently working with a Canon system and the tilt and shift lenses but I am not happy about the quality/flexibility. The next step would be the medium format/tech cameras and digital back but since the costs involved in this operation are substantial it is better to get off on the right foot and ask some advises from you!
I am attracted to the portability and size of the new tech cameras (ALPA, ARCA, CAMBO…) and I think this would be the natural choice BUT there are one important detail = the cost of the lenses.
The same lens can be almost double in price, for example:
CAMBO SK 35mm f/5.6 Apo-Digital XL = $4,800 (approximately)
Not mounted SK 35mm f/5.6 Apo-Digital XL = $2,775
If I am planning to have 3 lenses it’s easy to predict that the difference in costs are close to $7,000 and on top of that it would be much easier to find not mounted lenses than, for example, CAMBO or ALPA mounted lenses for renting.