The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Newbie Asks for Advise

Sabrejet

Have used film and now DSLR for many years. I am just a serious amateur and have wanted to try MF for a long time. After reading much of this site I have to ask what would I gain over my present 5D2 or if I had a D800e as the OP on one thread has? I would like to get one foot wet, but not soaked. Looked around on eb and see some Hass 500/503 with dig backs and wonder if that is the way to try MF out and then move up? Any help you may have will be greatly appreciated and I thank you, Jay

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
What sort of things do you shoot?

What do you love about photography? What do you love about your current camera? What do you want to improve on?

What's the budget you could imagine allocating?

Sabrejet

Landscape, birds, animals, flowers, insects, etc. A little close up/macro. Tried some street. Have never done real portrait. The challenge is producing that elusive perfect image. When you know you got a good one, you feel it. I feel that back in my film days, I went a lot slower, because every press of the shutter cost. With the dslr, they a free. I want to slow down and work on composition when called for. The 5D2 the more I use it, the more I know it. It looks like 20k would get you a good outfit, but do I want to go there yet?

dougpeterson

Workshop Member