The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Questions about Alpa Ground Glass Use

dchew

Just got a bunch of fun stuff this week from Alpa. I've been using an STC since 2011, and find myself shifting and stitching much more these days. I bought the ground glass for framing, not focusing. I've tried using LV for framing but I feel rushed as the battery power drains... Also there is no way to see around the image for stitching.

Although I've used a ground glass before on occasion, this is the first time I've owned one so I don't really have a routine developed. Some questions:

How well do I need to protect it from dust and the elements? I would like to leave it mounted on the STC when in the backpack, but I don't have a way to cover the whole camera. Do I need to put it in a zip lock bag, or is that not necessary?

The Alpa PGS comes with a 4mm grid but no other marks. I want to add corner marks for 54x40 and some shifted formats. I would rather mark the screen vs using masks so I can see what is around the image. Do I just get a fine point Sharpie and mark away? I'd rather not screw this up; I only have one chance!

Loupes: I need some help with recommendations. I won't be using this for focusing, only framing, so coverage is more important than magnification. It would be nice to cover the 18mm shift each way, but that would be a huge loupe. So in order of importance:
  1. Coverage
  2. Size (taking this backpacking)
  3. Image quality
  4. Magnification

Dave

Shashin