The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

H4D-50 vs H5D-50c Image Quality

Hi all,

I'm well aware of the advantages of the H5D-50c over the H4D-50 in regards to low light use and capturing moving subjects, but I wonder if there's any noticeable difference in regard to image quality at base ISO under good lighting conditions. I've been using the H4D-50 for a few years now, and the image quality at ISO 50 in good light, of stationary subjects, is outstanding. Is the H5D-50c capable of producing the same quality of photo at its base ISO of 100 as the H4D-50 at ISO 50?

Just interested to know, if any of you have been able to compare their outputs directly.

All the best.

Richard Naismith

torger

There is lot of subjectivity to this. You need to see for yourself and decide. The Kodak CCD is old technology and technically the CMOS has better color separation and lower noise, but look will be different. If you're a portrait photographer I would guess you prefer the CCD.

ErikKaffehr

Hi Anders,

Can you elaborate?

Best regards
Erik

There is lot of subjectivity to this. You need to see for yourself and decide. The Kodak CCD is old technology and technically the CMOS has better color separation and lower noise, but look will be different. If you're a portrait photographer I would guess you prefer the CCD.

torger

Can you elaborate?
Statistics. If you love the image quality of your Kodak-equipped 'blad and shoot portraits, my experience of all opinions I've taken part of is that you're going to prefer that over the CMOS.