The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

6x17 slides

Jamgolf

I bought a Horseman 617 panoramic camera a while back and yesterday I viewed my first ever couple of transparency rolls on a light-box with a loupe. It was an honestly mesmerizing experience; like re-living the moment that I originally experienced when I made the exposure. A sort of tunnel back in time.

As a hobbyist I value the sheer enjoyment of the photography-experience more than anything else, perhaps even more than the results which I do care deeply about, and in that spirit it was so very satisfying to view those E6 slides on that light-box/loupe setup. In fact quite a bit more intimate and rewarding than viewing photos on a monitor (my own photos as well as others') - which I seem to do incessantly.

Also, having to wait for such a long time for the results after taking the shots is contrary to my generally impatient disposition. The lack of instant gratification made me a little anxious, but I was so happy to collect my mail from the mailbox yesterday - like getting a surprise - a very pleasant one.

I have stitched quite a few panos over the years - one from Yellowstone I even have on my bedroom wall. But these 6x17 slides seem to have a life that my other panos seem to lack, however deliberate and meticulous my technique. I wonder if this E6 'life/energy' is unique to the lightbox viewing experience or if it translates to scans and prints as well.

I can appreciate why so many artists and hobbyists are shooting film. I intend to shoot a lot more 6x17 and 6x6 slide film in the future.

Just thought I'd share this experience.