The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Tech Cam - but with 120 film back to start with?

Hi, I am a keen amateur. I've owned both the Ebony RSW45 and Mamiya 7 in the past, but subsequently sold them.

What I liked most from each system was

(i) the Ebony's movements, i.e., it only really had front rise & fall (Front: Rise 60mm, Fall 25mm), but i found it immensely useful with a Schneider 110mm Super-Symmar XL given I did a lot of city architecture images. I sold it, mainly after Fuji discontinued Quickloads;

(ii) the Mamiya 7's amazing resolution off 120 film. Its lenses had a reputation of resolving approx 120 l/mm, and I found that 350mb drum-scanned 120 film (e.g., Acros 100 or especially Adox CMS 20) looked amazing off it, and not dissimilar to the output from the 4x5 camera. 120 film was also much easier to use and mail for development compared to non-Quickloaded 4x5. But the Mamiya 7 obviously lacked movements, and I missed that more than I expected.

I'm now wondering if the world of Tech Cam's (or other MFDB cameras) can provide a mix of the above aspects that I liked from both camera systems? Initially -- it would be for use with a film back, BUT with a view to using the same system for a high MP digital back in future years

For example, can an
(i) Alpa or Cambo provide a similar flexibility of Front movements that I attained with the Ebony + 110mm Super Symmar XL (if so, what camera and lens combo would you recommend that could emulate what I had before in the world of 4x5?), and