The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

iq250/iq260 residual value

strok

Hi, I got a good trade offer on a digital back from my dealer.
Both iq250 and Iq260 come with the same upgrade price
I'm a landscape photographer.
Both DBs have some limitations.
Having a full frame sensor is a huge advantage but a bad performance at high iso is a big disadvantage.
I'm having a hard time to choose.
85% of shots I will probably be taking at a base ISO, but it would be great not to have limitations when it comes to windy conditions or shooting Aurora lights at night. There's always an option to have a second camera (D810) for extra 15% of situations, but you have to have an extra set of glass as well.
Which DB do you think will have a better residual value lets say in 3 years?
Regards,
Evgueni

Last edited:

dougpeterson

Workshop Member
I'd do a shoot with each of those backs and decide which one suits you better.

Residual value is worth considering but not nearly as important as "when you're using it" value.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Even as a landscape shooter you will always run into wind and having a higher ISO back will be helpful.

Zerimar

I've been going through the same dilemma and decided to lean towards the 250 more for the 14 stops of range and high ISO ability. Plus the battery life is much better among a few other things.

I think that it will be nice to have the medium format be usable for all of my landscape work, because it was lacking for night images which I am quite partial to.

strok

Hi Doug,
I've tested both, and non of two gives me 100% of what I want.